Car speed limits in Wisconsin (2026)
Last reviewed: 9 October 2026
In short: Unless different limits are posted, the limit is 25 mph within a city or village, 35 mph in outlying and semiurban districts and 55 mph elsewhere. It is 65 mph on expressways and 70 mph on freeways, including interstates. The limit is 15 mph when passing a school at school times, and speeding forfeitures are doubled in school zones and where road workers are at risk.
| Rule | What applies |
|---|---|
| Built-up areasPassenger car on public roads | 25 mph on any highway within the corporate limits of a city or village, other than in outlying districts; 35 mph in an outlying district of a city or village and in a semiurban district outside a city or village [1] |
| Outside built-up areas (single carriageway)Passenger car on public roads | 55 mph in the absence of any other fixed limit or posted limit [1] |
| Outside built-up areas (dual carriageway or expressway)Passenger car on public roads | 65 mph on any expressway, except as provided for freeways and interchange-only expressway portions [1] |
| MotorwaysPassenger car on public roads | 70 mph on any freeway, including freeways that are part of the interstate system, and on any portion of an expressway that gives preference to through traffic by using interchanges only [1] |
| School zonesPassenger car on public roads | 15 mph when passing a schoolhouse while children are going to or from school or playing in the sidewalk area, and at a signed school crossing when a child or a crossing guard is present, unless signs show a different limit. Forfeitures for speeding while children are present in a signed school zone are doubled. [2] |
| Roadworks zonesPassenger car on public roads | Minimum and maximum forfeitures for speeding are doubled where people working in a highway maintenance or construction area, utility work area or emergency response area are at risk from traffic. [3] |
Notes
- The limits in sub. (4)(e)-(g) are effective on state and county trunk highways only where official signs have been erected (sub. (6)(a)). Limits indicated by official signs take precedence.
- The 65 mph and 70 mph limits are effective only where the department has erected official signs (sub. (6)(b)).
Sources
- Wisconsin Legislature: Wisconsin Statutes s. 346.57, Speed restrictions (2023-24 statutes, updated through 2025 Wis. Act 247; Internet Archive snapshot of 14 July 2026) (consulted 9 October 2026) · all sources
- Wisconsin State Legislature: Wis. Stat. § 346.57 Speed restrictions (Internet Archive snapshot of 17 July 2026) (consulted 10 October 2026) · all sources
- Wisconsin State Legislature: Wis. Stat. § 346.60 Penalty for violating sections 346.57 to 346.595 (Internet Archive snapshot of 7 March 2026) (consulted 10 October 2026) · all sources
Wisconsin and neighbouring states
| State | Built-up areas | Outside built-up areas (single carriageway) | Outside built-up areas (dual carriageway or expressway) | Motorways |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wisconsin | 25 mph; 35 mph outlying | 55 mph | 65 mph expressways | 70 mph |
| Iowa | 20 mph business, 25 mph residential | 55 mph | 65 mph (divided, multilane) | 70 mph (interstates) |
| Illinois | 30 mph (15 in alleys) | 55 mph | 65 mph (designated, 4+ lanes) | 70 mph |
| Michigan | 25 mph (business district) | 55 mph | 55 mph | 70 mph |
| Minnesota | 30 mph | 55 mph | 65 mph | 70 mph (65 in urban areas) |
More rules in Wisconsin
- CannabisPossession for personal use: Criminal offence (misdemeanour, then felony) · Growing at home: No (felony)
- Minimum age for a car driving licenceMinimum age for a car licence: 16 (probationary licence) · Earliest age to drive a car supervised: 15 (instruction permit)
- E-bikes and speed pedelecsLegal class: Three classes · Minimum age: Class 3: 16
- FireworksConsumers may buy and use category F2 fireworks: Yes, with a municipal permit
- Knives and pepper sprayFolding pocket knives: Knives excluded from concealed-carry ban · Locking or one-handed knives: Any knife excluded
- Statutory minimum wageNational statutory minimum wage: Yes (state law) · Current adult minimum wage (gross): $7.25 per hour
- Using a mobile phone while drivingHolding a phone while driving banned: No (texting only) · Hands-free use: Allowed
- Seat belts and child seatsSeat belt compulsory in front seats: Yes · Seat belt compulsory in rear seats: Yes
- Tobacco and nicotine age limitsMinimum age to buy tobacco: 21 · Minimum age to buy e-cigarettes: 21
- Drinking age and alcohol salesMinimum age to buy beer and wine: 21 · Minimum age to buy spirits: 21
- Drink-driving limitsBlood alcohol limit for ordinary drivers: 0.08% · Lower limit for novice or young drivers: Zero (under 21)
Related pages
General information, not legal advice. Rules change: check the official source before you fly or ride.