Minimum age for a car driving licence in Tlaxcala (2026)

Last reviewed: 9 October 2026

In short: Persons over 15 and under 18 can obtain a two-year permit through a parent or legal representative to drive cars. The regulation read does not state the age for an ordinary licence beyond referring to adulthood.

RuleWhat applies
Minimum age for a car licenceCar (category B) driving licence18 years [1]
Earliest age to drive a car supervisedCar (category B) driving licence⚠ Not yet verified
Driving before the minimum ageCar (category B) driving licenceParents or legal representatives of persons over fifteen and under eighteen can request a permit for them to drive cars, signing a letter of responsibility and proving the minor's identity and age. The permit is valid for two years. It is cancelled, and no other is granted, if the minor causes a road accident. [1]
Visitors on a foreign licence: ageCar (category B) driving licenceLicences or permits issued by the Secretaría, the Federal District, other states or abroad are valid for the vehicle type stated in the document, except licences for public transport, which must be issued by the state Secretaría. No age condition is stated. [1]
Learner's permit from ageCar (category B) driving licence15 years [1]

Notes

  • The text says a licence can be obtained on reaching 'la mayoría de edad' (adulthood) and gives permits to those over fifteen and under eighteen. Tlaxcala's state executive sites could not be reached, so the regulation of 10 January 2025 was read in an Internet Archive copy.
  • No learner or supervised-driving stage is described in the text read.
  • The text says 'mayores de quince años' (over fifteen); age is counted in completed years, so 15 is given. The text does not state a licence age; Art. 90 refers to obtaining a licence on reaching adulthood.

Sources

  1. Orden Jurídico Nacional (Secretaría de Gobernación), compilation of state law: Reglamento de la Ley de Comunicaciones y Transportes en el Estado de Tlaxcala en materia de Transporte Público y Privado (OJN compilation) (consulted 9 October 2026) · all sources

Compare with the other states and provinces →

General information, not legal advice. Rules change: check the official source before you fly or ride.